Ragdoll deformed and lighting issue

Started by megaerathia, October 14, 2016, 03:55:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

megaerathia

Hey, I've just started using WallWorm recently and I've come across a few issues.

I'm not very experienced with rigging or animating in 3ds max in general, but I've followed enough tutorials (Including the official ones) to know the general grasp.

For my first problem:

Models I create generally are masked half by shadow or appear nearly completely black on certain parts of the map.
I've tried playing with the Illumination origin > scaling and moving it up and forward a lot, enabling $ambientboost didn't have much of an effect either.

For my second problem:

I've been creating ragdolls, setting up my own bone system. Whether the next problem is 3ds max related or if I'm supposed to do something specific with the wall worm tools I'm not sure. If I create a bone seperately from the root bone and attach it to an other bone it spazzes all out in game. I've tried playing with the IK rotation limits and for some reason for some bones at 0 rotation it takes a near 180 rotation in account. As in the bone would be backwards or slightly rotated from its original position.

It results in some hilarious issues:
http://images.akamai.steamusercontent.com/ugc/262724394828085603/43AD50A62897F0E83D2564C88A282978D6764F17/

This is Garry's mod I'm exporting to. I'm not sure if a screenshot would be that helpful in my situation, but some pointers or hints would be helpful to say the least.

wallworm

Thanks for posting.

It's hard to tell specific causes of lighting issues without access to files.