Maps from Real Life

Started by blueking, June 06, 2014, 04:26:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

blueking

I have access to a Matterport camera, a unique device that uses RGB and IR sensors to create 3D models of real-world spaces (www.matterport.com). This could be an incredible tool for the mapmaking community, in that it would allow nearly anyone regardless of skill or experience to create maps of places they've been to, as well as significantly reduce the amount of time experienced mapmakers need to build their maps by letting them use scans of real places as starting points.

The only problem here is that the models it creates are .obj's. I have very little experience making maps, but I know that .obj's are a no-go in terms of maps for Source. I attempted to convert a model that the camera had created into a .vmf through the Wall Worm VMF Exporter (please don't laugh!) but it just locked my computer up (I let it run for about 12 hours before killing it).

I know people have asked before if there's an easy way to convert .obj's into .vmf's (or even .bsp's) and that the answer is usually "No, stop being so lazy, just remake it out of brushes in Hammer/WWMT" but I think this is a bit of a special circumstance. It's not like you can just reconfigure the camera to make brushes instead of .obj's. So, my question is this: is there a way to convert .obj's (which are not necessarily completely convex) into Source maps with minimal effort?

tl;dr: Camera turns your world into .obj's. Can you turn .obj's of spaces into maps?

Examples of models created by this camera are available upon request.

Joris Ceoen

Hello blueking,

Because Shawn is currently unavailable (gone for a few days) I will try to solve this 'problem' with you. The ' ' are because it's not really a problem in your situation but a misunderstanding of how models and level design work in Source.