Facial flexes?

Started by Pipann, May 17, 2016, 02:40:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Pipann

Hello, I'm Pipann, and new to this forum! Boy, been joining a lot of forums lately.

First of all I want to thank you developers of Wallworm for making this neat tool! I simply couldn't have done anything I have done so far without it. It took me a few frustrated attempts to understand how it works but it's a million times better than having to resort to 3D programs I have no experience with whatsoever.

So, last week I started creating my own models and releasing them on SFM. I have two submissions so far, but they're incredibly simplistic. One is a static prop and the other only has a minimal number of bones. The guides for WWMT helped me get this far. Now I've stumbled into a new problem.

For my next challenge, I wanted to submit a character. Overzealous? Yes, very.

I have the model, rigging and skinning all in place but what he still needs is facial flexes. Unfortunately, my experience with 3DS Max isn't all that great and I honestly have no idea how to go about this. I've searched for guides but the few I did find confuse me further with terms I don't understand. :(

...not to mention the fact I can't make anything out of how Valve's eyeballs work or how to reproduce it. Eyesliders?? What? How?

And then there's another question burning in my mind I haven't been able to find an answer to. When I do have facial flexes, how would I go about using WWMT to get those into SFM as well?

Sorry if I'm asking stupid questions or confusing people. I love 3D modeling, but I'm godawful at all these technical things. It's honestly a miracle I even got this far. Haha

I am using 3DS Max 2016, by the way. Cheers o/

CarbonCopyCat

This WW doc seems to cover exporting and creating facial flexes briefly, and this tutorial provides a more in-depth tutorial on how to make them (I've only skimmed it, so I'm not sure how good it is, but it seems like it'll work).