Help: Importing VTF brushes texture problems and model issues [EP2]

Started by darendark, October 29, 2016, 02:46:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

darendark

Hello,
I am really excited at the prospect of adding Wallworm and 3DS Max to my mapping workflow! I am trying to import a func_detail window made of brushes into 3DS Max Wallworm. When I do this, all the textures that Wallworm copies seem to be automatically brightened to an unrealistic level. Here I have included a side by side comparison of the vtf (Left and larger) with the tga Wallworm (right and smaller) produced:

I am new to Wallworm, so I am unsure if there is perhaps a setting I need to change to stop this from happening.

However, if I do follow through with making the model anyway, the lighting on the model is all wrong, as if it isn't able to be illuminated. (Pictured below on the Bottom is the model exported from Wall worm, top is the original func_detail) This has been compiled on Full HDR settings in the Episode 2 engine, so it shouldn't be a compiling issue. And there are no leaks on the map either, so it isnt that. Again, I am new to Wall worm and followed some of the tutorials posted on the Wall worm youtube page to import my brushes and export my model. Any help would be very much appreciated, let me know if you need me to share my settings.

wallworm

There are two separate issues here.

1) Washed out textures. You actually don't need to worry about that if all you are doing is converting an object. If that is that case, simply do not re-export the texture and the game will use the original VTF. It's only a display issue in Max. However, here is an article I posted this morning on this very topic of washed out textures (I assume you were the one who emailed me last night?)

2) Black Prop Textures. This is very likely due to the Material being set to export as LightMappedGeneric instead of VertexLitGeneric.