DMX Export produces odd lighting characteristics

Started by StealthClobber, December 30, 2016, 01:11:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

StealthClobber

I've been having this problem for quite a while now, but I've never bothered to post about it till now because I've just been using SMD instead in its place. For the record, I never used to have this problem with DMX, but somewhere along the line it changed.

I'm running the latest version of WW Pro on Max 2014. 2016 produces the same result, so it's not the older version that is the problem.

This is how the model should look (body exported with SMD):

And this is how the body looks when exported with DMX:

As you can see, the rim lighting completely bugs out on DMX, and the phong screws up too.

It gets even worse in SFM when you combine ambient occlusion in the mix:

Joris Ceoen

I won't be of much help for this particular issue, since I'm not experienced with SFM, nor with the DMX format. But I have a question out of pure curiosity: What is the difference between both file extensions, and why not just use .smd if that seems to work for you (I guess there's a good reason for it, which is why I would like to know).

In the mean time I'm sure Shawn will be able to help you when he has the time  :)

wallworm

Thanks for reporting.

What is the Normal setting on the exporter? If you set it to Explicit Normals, do you get better results?

wallworm

Also, if changing to Explicit Normals doesn't help, here are a few other things to try:

• Make sure the Exporter is not using the Local Origin or Rotate Origin option (especially for rigged models)
  • Make sure the XForm is reset before exporting

If the Explicit Normal fixes the issue, you can make this the default in the global settings (which I recommend for all WW Pro users).

StealthClobber

Resetting the XForm solved the problem. Thanks Shawn!