Textures change size in engine

Started by snah, June 11, 2013, 01:24:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

snah

So, i'm having a lovely time using Wall Worm! So powerful and even though ive been using Hammer for over 5 years already finding this tool far easier.

My only problem so far has been after getting all the HL2 materials into my material library in Max and applying a few of them to some objects, then applying a UVW Map modifier and adjusting the values until I am happy with the look. I then collapse the modifier tree back down into an Editable Poly and export the VMF, then if i open the map in Hammer or run it in the game the textures are all 8 times too big. So if they looked like they would be a texture scale of 0.25 in Hammer when inside 3DS Max, after exporting they end up being a texture scale of 2. >:(

Am i doing something wrong? Please help.

wallworm

Well there are a couple things to keep in mind.

1) The UVW translations/orientations and scale can be affected by both the texture transforms and the per-face UVW. WW will accommodate both.

2) The Material Library generator in WW does not yet calculate a material's texturetransforms for imported VMT/VTFs... so if your imported VMT material is transformed/scaled incorrectly, this is why. I intend to fix this in the future but haven't gotten around to it yet.

In the event of #2 being a problem, simply change the Material name in Max and re-export the VMT as a new VMT (it will re-use the textures) and see if that new material displays properly.

If this is happening with materials you create from scratch, please send me a sample scene with the problem.

PS. TIP: Collapsing the stack is not required for your geometry... one thing I often do is instance a single UVW map across many objects (say a whole building) so that I can manipulate the UVW of all objects at once by just modifying that one UVW modifier. I keep the modifier alive as long as I think I might want to edit all that at once.

snah