DMX exporting?

Started by shatteredwings, October 28, 2013, 10:11:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

shatteredwings

Hello there. I have just recently started using WW, seeing as the older version of SMD import/export from cannon fodder and wonderboy have sadly been outdated for a very long time. Though I am new to using WW I am not new to animations in 3ds max, exporting the SMD and compiling said animation to be used in 'Source Filmmaker'. While this is an easy thing to do it is still rather time consuming to make an animation, compile models, just to see you did something wrong, just to repeat the process all over again. These 10 or more minutes of compiling and testing add up and gets tiring after awhile. Though, Source Filmmaker does allow direct animation importing through the use of DMX files. Other 3d programs such as Blender and Maya have plugins that support such exports for DMX animations. So, I was hoping that perhaps it was possible for WW to implement DMX exporting. While it isn't entirely needed, WW for me has been a one stop plugin that is great for everything I need.

wallworm

I have already started building a DMX exporter. I'm not sure when I'll be done.

Why can you not export animations without DMX? You should be able to use SMD. I haven't really messed with SFM much... does it not use animated SMDs?

shatteredwings

Quote from: wallworm on October 28, 2013, 01:16:59 PM
I have already started building a DMX exporter. I'm not sure when I'll be done.

Why can you not export animations without DMX? You should be able to use SMD. I haven't really messed with SFM much... does it not use animated SMDs?