Ability to create VTA

Started by turnstyle, May 04, 2011, 07:30:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

turnstyle

Just wanted to say first the tool is awesome!  I'm new to the Source engine and having a hell of a time figuring out how to make VTA's and everything needed for Faceposer.  The nice thing about the tool it really makes everything pretty artist friendly.  The VTA and facial animation setup on the other hand asks a lot from an artist.

Is this something that is possible?

wallworm

It's certainly on the TODO list; but to be honest, I haven't done VTA yet. I expect that as soon as I get around to attempting it, I will investigate the ins-ands-outs and what I can do to make it less painful.

Feel free to send ideas on what you think it should do; if you have any friends who have input, they are free to share input as well.

wallworm

I've started the groundwork for adding VTA support. I've sent emails to both Wunderboy and Cannonfodder asking for a couple new features that will make the process easier to incorporate into WWMT... but even if they don't, I should be able to make it work.

Essentially, the workflow will be like this:

• You make your Model as you normally would... including the mesh with a morph target that needs the VTA.
  • You tell WWMT that meshes with Morph modifiers (or the Di-O-Matic Morph-o-Matic modifier) should be treated as a VTA export target
  • You Export*

*The export phase may have to be preceded with a call to a WWMT utility to create keyframes for each morph target. One request for Wunderboy and Cannonfodder is to let the program specify frames at export rather than have to create them manually... if they don't have the time to accomodate then I'll have to make a helper function to automate that step. We'll see if/when they might add that.