Wall Worm Forums

Design Tools => Wall Worm Model Tools => Using WWMT => Topic started by: DillonBarba on June 02, 2015, 06:12:35 PM

Title: Sequence trouble.
Post by: DillonBarba on June 02, 2015, 06:12:35 PM
Hey guys, I have this problem with this model im trying to animate.
i have the sequence all prepped and ready in 3dsmax and i have the parameters set appropriately the frames are set from the 0-25 frames and my qc looks fine.
// QC File generated by the Wall Worm Model Tools Version 2.588
// Get the latest version and notes at:
// http://dev.wallworm.com

$scale 1.0
$modelname "Bobs_Burgers/props/bb_bobsstoredoor.mdl"
$body bb_bobsstoredoor "bb_bobsstoredoor.smd"
$contents "solid"
$cdmaterials "Bobs_Burgers/props"
$sequence idle "bb_bobsstoredoor"  activity ACT_IDLE -1.0 loop fps 30
$sequence Wiggle "bb_bobsstoredoor_sequence_Wiggle" fps 30.0 fadein 0.2 fadeout 0.2

$include "bb_bobsstoredoor_wwmt_custom.qci"


the sequence shows up in hammer but it doesn't move.
any ideas? also bonus question i have a bell above a door and i want it to wiggle when shot.
anyone know how to solve this one?
Title: Re: Sequence trouble.
Post by: wallworm on June 02, 2015, 09:08:07 PM
The sequence default is the first (idle) sequence. You'll need to make the prop default animation to the sequence you want it to use, or set up some trigger I/O that changes the sequence.

For the bell, you can look into using jiggle bones, or use a physics prop. You can also make a new sequence for that animation that is triggered when shot.

Hopefully that helps.

And welcome back... haven't seen you on here in a while :)
Title: Re: Sequence trouble.
Post by: DillonBarba on June 02, 2015, 11:27:51 PM
I set a trigger to change the animation, but even in hlmv it's not showing the desired animation see i have idle and "Jiggle"
Title: Re: Sequence trouble.
Post by: wallworm on June 02, 2015, 11:30:19 PM
Send the Max file to me and I'll test it. I was just getting ready to turn things off for the night, but if you get it to me in the next couple minutes I'll check it out tonight. Otherwise, I'll look at it tomorrow.
Title: Re: Sequence trouble.
Post by: wallworm on June 02, 2015, 11:43:17 PM
I guess one thing: to see the animation, you need to not only select the jiggle, but also to change the radio option to the row you selected. Then HLMV will play the animation.
Title: Re: Sequence trouble.
Post by: DillonBarba on June 03, 2015, 04:28:38 PM
figured it out, I was trying to animate without a bones system; i was moving verts per keyframe instead, like a lazy person lol
after i set up bones and a simple IK solver it worked like a charm.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7K1UeHYJf5U

and if anyone is wondering how i got the bell sound to work,
Title: Re: Sequence trouble.
Post by: wallworm on June 03, 2015, 04:31:51 PM
Excellent! This should be helpful for some users. So I'm going to move this to the Using WW board and Sticky the topic.

Now one of these days we'll get you to experiment doing the entities inside Max :)
Title: Re: Sequence trouble.
Post by: wallworm on June 11, 2015, 12:58:03 PM
Since it wasn't shared here, I'm sharing what Dillon sent me:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UnlaZtw8NWQ
Title: Re: Sequence trouble.
Post by: Joris Ceoen on June 11, 2015, 01:54:41 PM
No way, is all of this made in WW?
Title: Re: Sequence trouble.
Post by: DillonBarba on June 15, 2015, 02:39:48 PM
yes, of course!
I've also run into a continuity problem when im trying to flow brush and model seamlessly.

as you can see in the attachment the model texture and the brush texture have the same color but different shadows are being casted onto them, does anyone know of a trick to make this more seamless?
Title: Re: Sequence trouble.
Post by: wallworm on June 15, 2015, 03:04:23 PM
Here are some of the things you can do to get the best lighting in these scenarios:

Hopefully these tips help.


Title: Re: Sequence trouble.
Post by: DillonBarba on June 15, 2015, 06:22:23 PM
im not exactly sure how to use info_lighting but i did put in those parameters i also changed the normals of the model to face outwards like the wall but to no avail.
Title: Re: Sequence trouble.
Post by: wallworm on June 15, 2015, 06:43:21 PM
You may want to move the info_lighting out towards the middle of the room some.

But in the end, it is often not feasible to get the same lighting from a brush/model, unfortunately--unless there are some secrets I'm unaware of.

If it cannot work, I'd suggest breaking it into convex chunks and turning it into a func_detail. You can then use the same texture you already have but change the shader to LightmappedGeneric, which will then match the other parts.
Title: Re: Sequence trouble.
Post by: DillonBarba on June 16, 2015, 12:36:46 AM
i kind of found a hacky work around, i modeled the wall and attached it to my props.
so now its seamless lol.
Title: Re: Sequence trouble.
Post by: Joris Ceoen on June 16, 2015, 07:38:40 AM
Actually I would have done it the other way round. Those models can easily be made into brushes, with the textures corresponding to the geometry. They are far from being complicated, to which it would have been better to brush them out. Models should only be used if, and only if something is incapable to be handled by brushes only.
Title: Re: Sequence trouble.
Post by: DillonBarba on June 16, 2015, 02:09:45 PM
ill give that a shot tonight, could be simpler in the end anyway haha
Title: Re: Sequence trouble.
Post by: wallworm on June 16, 2015, 05:23:30 PM
Quote from: DillonBarba on June 16, 2015, 12:36:46 AM
i kind of found a hacky work around, i modeled the wall and attached it to my props.
so now its seamless lol.
Looks great. I wouldn't necessarily call it a hacky work around... as something isn't necessarily a hack if it solves your problem.
Quote from: Joris Ceoen on June 16, 2015, 07:38:40 AM
Actually I would have done it the other way round. Those models can easily be made into brushes, with the textures corresponding to the geometry. They are far from being complicated, to which it would have been better to brush them out. Models should only be used if, and only if something is incapable to be handled by brushes only.
Although I might have used brushes in this example, I'd be wary of saying that models should only be used where brushes don't work. There are many things that can be a brush but you might want as a model instead. Even with things like a crate... each brush increases the file size whereas a model is just a fixed file size where it's geometry is "spawned" as each location. As a comparison, you can make a scene with a single box model that has 1000 proxies (prop_static instances) vs the same scene except the boxes are 1000 brushes. So you have to take things like that into consideration if you have to worry about file size, among other things.
Title: Re: Sequence trouble.
Post by: Joris Ceoen on June 16, 2015, 05:59:30 PM
Quote from: wallworm on June 16, 2015, 05:23:30 PMAlthough I might have used brushes in this example, I'd be wary of saying that models should only be used where brushes don't work. There are many things that can be a brush but you might want as a model instead. Even with things like a crate... each brush increases the file size whereas a model is just a fixed file size where it's geometry is "spawned" as each location. As a comparison, you can make a scene with a single box model that has 1000 proxies (prop_static instances) vs the same scene except the boxes are 1000 brushes. So you have to take things like that into consideration if you have to worry about file size, among other things.
That's a very valid point which I haven't thought about yet. My bad! Thanks for bringing this in :)
Title: Re: Sequence trouble.
Post by: DillonBarba on June 19, 2015, 02:23:44 PM
i made them into a brush it looks okay i just dont want to waste anymore time on it,
ive started working on the dining room downstairs,
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1LhGstqiQ5Y
Title: Re: Sequence trouble.
Post by: wallworm on June 19, 2015, 03:12:46 PM
Excellent. You'll need to start a thread in here on how you go about making your assets, etc. I'm sure many users would have fun reading.
Title: Re: Sequence trouble.
Post by: DillonBarba on July 06, 2015, 04:33:03 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V6YbIxErbM4