Error exporting materials

Started by TooL, June 21, 2014, 09:10:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

TooL

Hey it's been a while.

So I just started getting back into trying source related mapping and I'm just figuring out the workflows and got Wallworms again for assisting in the mdl making etc.

So I made just a teapot and applied a tga UVChecker image to it (just a very simple model, even tried a box as well since I just want to make sure I know how to get models in hammer etc.) Export the model no problem, but exporting the material gives me an error in the cmd window of the following

Failed to load keyvalues file cfg/mount.cfg!
and another saying
Error: problem figuring out outputdir for material

Any ideas on what's going on?

Joris Ceoen

I have 2 possible solutions for this, but I'm not experienced enough in fixing these particular errors since I have never had them. For the first one, I'm not sure what could be wrong with the .cfg, so perhaps you should simply try to refresh your cache from Garry's Mod.

For the second error, I think it's figuring out the output directory because it appears you didn't update the output directory in the first place. Are you sure you want to output your texture file in a folder named "Map _1"? When you export your texture with the "Export VTA's" button, you should be able to click an arrow which should automatically set your preferred material output path. It may that in the Material Sledge Editor you forgot to give the texture a decent name and to put the output path in the material's dialogue block. Because you're learning 3DS Max and WWMT I take it this may sound like Chinese at the moment, but I'm sure Shawn will come to your assistance when he has the time (which to my experience never takes long!) and explain all of this clearly to you :)!

wallworm

This is my best initial guess: