Help needed for CSGO

Started by llVeXXll, August 07, 2012, 04:56:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

llVeXXll

Hello, I am totally new to making models. I am using 3D studio max 2013, with wallworm model tools. I am modeling for counterstrike global offensive beta. I am having so many problems getting started!

Firstly, none of the paths the guy gives in the tutorials exist in cs go. I changed the bin path to the folder that studiomdl and vtex is in, which is steamapps/common/counterstrikeglobaloffensive/bin.

But there is no correct folder for the other 2. Here is a screenshot of what it looks like:

What paths should I set the models and materials bit to?

Next, I have downloaded some free models off a website, I want to use them in a CS GO map that I am working on, but I don't know where to start. It's worth mentioning that I HAVE NEVER USED 3DSMAX before, I opened the .3ds file up in max.. it's all in different parts, is there a way I can group it? Then what do I do next? It looks like it's poly count is WAAAAY too high to have in a CS map, is there a way I can reduce it? Is there even a way I can tell if it has a texture or not? If it did not have a texture would it just appear grey in 3dsmax? argh! so much to learn. I have been trying to get just one damn model into my map for weeks using blender and it's smd exporter, which failed miserably, because it kept giving me just one .smd file, but I know I need at least 3 (x_ref, x_phys) etc. I just don't get it!

Will be so grateful for any help.

wallworm

Welcome to the World Of Worms!

I don't yet have CS:GO  so cannot yet test. But I think you need to do this:

In the sdk_content folder, create:

modelsrc
materialsrc

And set those as the targets for the modelsrc and materialsrc folders.

For the Game Info Dir, set it to the csgo folder.

Set the mapsrc path to the sdk_content/maps folder.